my poor dead engine

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
Well after looking at the darn corvair with a sick 500 for 6 weeks I finanly got to work on it some.When the oil pressure dropped down between 8# and 15 # pressure at idle and barely 18 # at higher rpm ,i quit driving it and waited till I had some time ect to go ahead and pull the engine and Im going to rebuild it basdicly stock ,hopefully nothings wrong with the #10 mts cam and crank.Its not going to be all out motor.The engine with the # 10 cam ran really strong in the corvair and Im happy with that preformance.

I was reading a commit by Darius about any one still liking the caddy.In one way power wise I could make it easyer on myself and put in a ls. BUT I have had my corvair at the local car spots on FRI and SAT nights and the corvair always draws a crowd when I open the hood with that 500 ci engine. I believe it would lose a lot by putting a LS in it,guess I dont want to join the LS crowd. I'll stay older school.

Richard richie49
Now gotta find some parts.
 

48Austin

Safty First! Then pull the trigger!
Joined
Oct 14, 2017
Messages
534
Reaction score
276
Points
63
Location
Over here
What vehicle(s) do you drive?
1964 Commercial, 1948 Austin, 58 Pan
That's cool your not going the LS route. Seems to be the "new" flat head. Does your car have the engine in back with a Eldo trans?
 

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
My corvair has the engine in front.The car sets on a 85 monte carlo ss frame ,arather tight fit.Hopefully it'll be back on the road in the near future.

Richard richie49
 

Darius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,384
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Richard,

My V8 Vairs all had their engines in the rear so I have no experience with a re-framed front engined Corvair. When you have some time I'd love to see pictures of your installation.

Years ago I thought about using the TH425 transaxle mounted mid-ships with everything turned sideways - as in transversely mounted. The thought was to use fully independent axles front and rear making the car AWD. Somehow the AWD Studebaker project seemed easier.

Best of luck sorting out the problem with your engine. Let me know if I can help.

bro. d
 

48Austin

Safty First! Then pull the trigger!
Joined
Oct 14, 2017
Messages
534
Reaction score
276
Points
63
Location
Over here
What vehicle(s) do you drive?
1964 Commercial, 1948 Austin, 58 Pan
My corvair has the engine in front.The car sets on a 85 monte carlo ss frame ,arather tight fit.Hopefully it'll be back on the road in the near future.

Richard richie49
Then this should be an easy fix. Just rehash the motor and go!
 

Darius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,384
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Richard,

Up above I asked for pictures of your installation. I do remember that you posted some picture a while back but I've looked for them and can't find them. Can you point me to the thread that has them?

Thanks,

bro. d
 

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
Darius
Just type in 1965 corvair in the searce panel.If I can find them I'll post some pics when I started with the 500 in the back with the 425 trans.I could not get it to work with the suspension so
thats when I went with the frame conversion.
P.J.
Yes its a bummer.When I can Ill post some pics of the main and rod bearings.They dont look real bad but strange.The biggest problem is the cam bearings THEY are shot all to hell.The engine was rebuild earlier
in life by someone so maybe they were bad before I put in the cam.I dont know.I didnt think I was rough enough to damage them but if they were I should have seen them.Looks like Im going to have crank turned
all new bearing rings.
I have some questions on the cam.When I can get the pics I'll post them.
Just another day in our fun sport of automotive hobby.

Richard richie49
 

Darius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,384
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Done! A good refresher on your project. I look forward to seeing more.

bro. d
 

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
Hello everyone,

I have to rebuild my engine,turn crank ect. So I have to get my parts but would like to have some help on what.
1 Are grooved cam bearings for a basicaly stock build nessary?
2 Moly or cast rings?
3 roller chain cam gear set or standard?
4 The engine will be basicaly stock except exaust is 2 1/2 pipe, intake hogged out and a cam. The cam was a #10 steath cam. It ran great but the cam was running on bad cam bearings and show a weird
wear pattern on lobes ,not flat but like it was moving in and out,anyway I'm replacing the cam but would like an increase in power but not to over cam the engine.What would be a good selection?

Any other suggestions welcome.I cant go with new pistons ect ,dont have enough money:(.So I need to go easy on the wallet.

Richard richie49
 

MIHELA

Active Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2016
Messages
209
Reaction score
78
Points
28
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
I went with grooved cam bearings on my build because they can create a better oil wedge. The price is not that much more. Unless you send the motor to a machine shop cast iron rings are easier to hone for at home, and cheaper.
 

Darius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,384
Reaction score
783
Points
113
Hello everyone,

I have to rebuild my engine,turn crank ect. So I have to get my parts but would like to have some help on what.
1 Are grooved cam bearings for a basicaly stock build nessary?
2 Moly or cast rings?
3 roller chain cam gear set or standard?
4 The engine will be basicaly stock except exaust is 2 1/2 pipe, intake hogged out and a cam. The cam was a #10 steath cam. It ran great but the cam was running on bad cam bearings and show a weird
wear pattern on lobes ,not flat but like it was moving in and out,anyway I'm replacing the cam but would like an increase in power but not to over cam the engine.What would be a good selection?

Any other suggestions welcome.I cant go with new pistons ect ,dont have enough money:(.So I need to go easy on the wallet.

Richard richie49
Howdy Richard,

1) Like MIHELA I also went with grooved cam bearings on my build. The slight added cost is overshadowed by the greater peace. (PS - make sure the installer knows which way is up - the right orientation)
2) For piston rings I've gone both ways (not to get kinky here) but my edge would be for the Moly. I also prefer Total Seal rings for most applications. Just saying'.
3) We don't really have much choice in cam gear sets. Again, the difference in price is such that I'd go with the best offered. My pockets are limited but my experience says there are place NOT to go cheap.
4) Camshafts? Pick your Poison! Determine your goals and build accordingly. With these engines "bigger," in terms of cam specs, is more doable than with smaller engines. (Julius would be proud of me!)

As for other suggestions: Again calling on that old fart, MadCad, keep the bearing clearances tighter. Our stock oil pumps have limited capacity and larger clearance are just another name for unnecessary leaks.

Best,

bro. d
 

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
Darius
I guess I could use my imagination but I dont want to over cam my engine.I kinda want to upgrade from the mt 10 to the mt 15.Mad Cadder doesnt show up here anymore so I cant ask him and f85 is also missing
:(:)

Richard richie49
 

PJ McCoy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2015
Messages
1,247
Reaction score
354
Points
83
Location
Outter Banks NC
Richie. I have the 15 cam. Its not to big. Are you going to use rocker shaft or tee pedestal?
Can you send me your email? I can load the photo due to low memory on my phone.
PJ
 

Darius

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,384
Reaction score
783
Points
113
I have it on good report that both the MadCadder and Bro. PJ are in agreement. The consensus is that the MTS 15 will not over-cam your engine and you aught to degree that cam to be 4 degrees advanced.

What do I know? I like puppies! :geek:

bro. d
 

Red98422

Active Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
396
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Location
Washington state
From what I understand with these particular engines are really difficult to “over cam” and your valvetrain would be the weak point. If you answer PJ’s question above it will help the folks here to give you advice. (Rockers: “T” or shaft?) also did you upgrade the springs as part of the package with the original cam? I’m thinking that going to a MTS15 could put undue strain and cause a failure if your using otherwise stock parts (I could also be very wrong so seek other opinions as well). Also Stupid question but would the pattern of wear moving in and out indicate lifters jumping off the bevel? Or maybe distributor shaft play?
 

richie49

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
382
Reaction score
90
Points
28
Location
Pasadena texas
PJ
I'm using the stock t-pedestals. Did you upgrade to shaft rockers?
Red98422
I got the kit when I went with the #10 cam.cam lifters springd seals and retainers and the little keepers.Going with new cam and lifters but reusing the spring kit.Its rated for the #15 cam.

Richard richie49
 

Red98422

Active Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
396
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Location
Washington state
Good to know about the upgraded springs! Also I’ll let PJ answer the shaft vs pedestal question since he is running the #15 already.
 

48Austin

Safty First! Then pull the trigger!
Joined
Oct 14, 2017
Messages
534
Reaction score
276
Points
63
Location
Over here
What vehicle(s) do you drive?
1964 Commercial, 1948 Austin, 58 Pan
I would think:confused:? But I try not to. Gets me in trouble. That a shaft rocker set up would be stronger:unsure:.
 

Red98422

Active Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2018
Messages
396
Reaction score
207
Points
43
Location
Washington state
The shaft rockers would definitely be stronger, but you have to offset that with the cost of both the setup and the machining needed to install them. Also if you get a non-adjustable set your also looking at potentialy needing pushrods as well...it just sort of snowballs very quickly.
 
Top