Help!!! Adaptive Cruise Control

Discussion in 'Cadillac Coupes and Sedans' started by Ryan Stephens, May 4, 2018.

  1. Ryan Stephens

    Ryan Stephens New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    What vehicle(s) do you drive?:
    2006 Cadillac STS
    I recently had some bodywork done on my 2006 Cadillac STS and my front grill was damaged so I got an aftermarket one because I liked the look. Where I bought my grill listed it compatible with my exact car but when I got it back it was about a week before I drove on a highway. When I went to use my shitty adaptive cruise control, I have hated from the very beginning, it said “Clean Radar Sensor” on my dash. Well I dicked around with it and finally went back to the body shop and asked them to look at it. The manager called where I got the grill from and they said, “Yeah it fits the car but it really isn’t for that car because the new grill disrupts the sensor.” Well this is just great because my old grill was bad, and I don’t want to pay the price for a new factory one. My new grill is mesh enclosed. How do I trick the front sensor so I can use my cruise again??? This is the stupidest shit I have ever seen. That I can’t use the cruise unless the sensor is reading that it is clear. This is the first car I have ever had with a system like this so I have plenty of experience not running into the back of someone. HELP PLEASE!!!!!
     
  2. Darius

    Darius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    319
    Ryan, I see that this is your first posting on this forum. We deal primarily with the older, larger, Cadillac engines and cars so your question isn't really in our strength category. That said, any "mesh" is likely to act like a Faraday Cage and potentially disrupt that sensor. Depending of the exact location of the sensor I would consider cutting a small hole in the mesh large enough to allow the unit to do its thing. Sorry, but that's the best that I have to offer.

    Bro. d
     
  3. nosgood

    nosgood Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    I agree with Darius. Either that, or find another place to mount the sensor.

    -Nick
     
  4. MIHELA

    MIHELA Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    If you mount that sensor anywhere but where the factory intended God knows what will happen if it works.
     

Share This Page